Best Answering Services for Roofing Companies 2026: Storm Calls Priced
Published . Updated . Prices checked October 12, 2026.

Key takeaways
- At 100 three-minute calls, the median live answering service costs $406 (prices checked October 12, 2026).
- PATLive can throttle calls after an unannounced spike, and Ruby keeps an upgrade for the current cycle and at least two more.
- At 50 calls, Specialty Answering Service costs $231; at 100, Go Answer costs $345.
- Nexa markets roofing dispatch but does not publish the plan price, so its cost cannot be compared numerically.
As of October 12, 2026, the median live answering service costs $406 for 100 three-minute roofing calls in a month. A storm can move many estimate requests into a short window, but published plan math measures monthly volume, not how quickly a service answers a burst. Ask about surge handling before forwarding a campaign or storm-response line.
What a roofing answering service costs
Prices checked against each vendor's own pricing page on October 12, 2026.
| Service | Billing unit | Entry plan | 50 calls/mo | 100 calls/mo | 200 calls/mo | 300 calls/mo | Overage | Contract | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smith.ai Virtual Receptionists | Per call | $300/month (30 calls) | $530 | $915 | $1,965 | $2,100 | $8.50 to $11.50 a call | Cancel 30 days before the cycle ends or the next month is billed; annual plans prepaid and non-refundable | smith.ai/pricing/receptionists, read Oct 12, 2026 |
| AnswerForce | Per minute | $349/month (200 minutes) | $349 | $389 | $854 | $1,254 | $1.85 to $2.00 a minute | 90-day minimum (the help center says month-by-month) | answerforce.com/plans-direct, read Oct 7, 2026 |
| Answering Service Care | Per minute | $40/month (pay per use at $1.75/min) | $264 | $409 | $774 | $1,179 | $1.35 to $1.70 a minute | Month-to-month on monthly billing; written notice one full billing period ahead; no refunds | answeringservicecare.com/pricing, read Oct 12, 2026 |
| Go Answer | Per minute | $175/month (100 minutes) | $262.50 | $345 | $700 | $1,050 | $1.25 to $1.75 a minute | "Cancel anytime", but the FAQ asks for 30 days written notice; no proration | goanswer.io/pricing/live-receptionist, read Oct 12, 2026 |
| MoneypennyUS | Per minute | $165/month (50 minutes) | $371 | $613 | $1,152 | $1,653 | $1.67 to $2.28 a minute | Month-to-month; one full calendar month notice by phone | moneypenny.com/us/plans-pricing-people, read Oct 12, 2026 |
| Nexaquote only | Per minute (per-event billing allowed) | Quote only | Quote only | Quote only | Quote only | Quote only | Not published | Month-to-month; written notice one month before the next invoice | nexa.com/pricing, read Oct 12, 2026 |
| PATLive | Per minute | $49/month (pay per use at $2.99/min) | $293.50 | $479 | $938 | $1,475 | $1.49 to $2.29 a minute | Month-to-month | patlive.com/pricing, read Oct 12, 2026 |
| Posh | Per minute | $65/month (pay per use at $2.30/min) | $322.50 | $630 | $1,170 | $1,755 | $1.90 to $2.20 a minute | Month-to-month; cancels at the end of the cycle; non-refundable | posh.com/pricing, read Oct 12, 2026 |
| Ruby | Per minute | $250/month (50 minutes) | $620 | $1,160 | $2,125 | $3,127.50 | $3.30 to $5.40 a minute | 30-day contract that renews automatically | ruby.com/plans-and-pricing, read Oct 12, 2026 |
| Specialty Answering Service | Per minute or per call | $44/month (pay per use at $1.54/min) | $231 | $384.20 | $783 | $1,185 | $1.09 to $1.44 a minute | Three cancellation rules on the site and a fourth in the terms; no proration | specialtyansweringservice.net/pricing, read Oct 12, 2026 |
Our arithmetic: each vendor's cheapest published plan for that volume plus its published overage, at 3-minute calls. Taxes, pass-through fees, setup fees and add-ons are not included. How we price.
The table prices nine published services and shows Nexa as quote only. It is a bill comparison, not a measured test of answer speed, storm capacity or booked jobs. Smith.ai sells calls rather than minutes, but its standard live plan has an extended-intake condition. A roofing contractor should compare the script and dispatch flow with the price, especially when insurance details or temporary leak protection make calls longer than the shared three-minute assumption. For a broader market range and more vendors, see answering service pricing.
How storm calls change a roofing bill
The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's 2024 climate report counted severe storms and tropical cyclones among its billion-dollar disaster categories. That describes exposure to storm damage, not the number of calls a roofing company receives. A monthly bill depends on the latter. Use your own phone logs to count calls in a quiet month and after the most recent local storm; separate active leaks, inspection requests, repeat callers and solicitors.
Here is a stress test, not a forecast: compare 50, 100, 200 and 300 answered calls in one billing month, each at the same three-minute length. At 50 calls, Specialty Answering Service costs $231 and Go Answer costs $262.50. At 100 calls, Go Answer costs $345 and Specialty costs $384.20. The order reverses, so picking from a quiet month alone can mislead. The two services' plans also differ in cancellation and billed work.
At 200 calls, Go Answer costs $700 and Specialty costs $783. At 300 calls, Go Answer costs $1,050 and Specialty costs $1,185. These figures change the volume but hold length constant. The index cannot infer a roofing shop's actual call mix, how many calls arrive simultaneously, or whether a receptionist can book an inspection while crews are on roofs.
An active leak also changes what the receptionist does. A useful script records the address, safe callback number, current water entry, whether anyone needs immediate assistance, roof access constraints, and the owner's preferred dispatch threshold. Keep insurance claim status separate from a promise about coverage. A receptionist can take a message, book an inspection or reach an on-call lead, but the contract must say whether the time spent ringing crew members, waiting on hold and writing the summary draws down the allowance. Ask for a sample invoice annotated against one such call.
The catch for roofers: a spike may change service as well as price
PATLive: an unannounced campaign spike can reduce call priority. Its terms require advance notice for television or radio ads and reserve the right to "throttle, redirect or reduce the priority of Your calls" after an unplanned spike (PATLive terms, read October 7, 2026). The clause addresses advertising, not weather itself. If storm damage prompts a rapid ad campaign, ask how much notice and what capacity plan PATLive expects. Its terms also bill hold time during a transfer attempt, while queue time and time after the receptionist disconnects are not billed. That distinction matters when the on-call roofer is hard to reach.
Posh and Nexa: advertising-driven swings can end service. Posh's terms permit termination without notice if advertising causes "extreme fluctuations in call volume that adversely affects service to other customers" (Posh terms, read October 7, 2026). Nexa has similar wording in its terms (read October 7, 2026). Again, the trigger is advertising, so do not assume a weather surge alone invokes it. Ask either provider to put its surge threshold, notice process and overflow destination in writing before a seasonal campaign. Nexa's roofing page advertises emergency dispatch and booking, but its published pricing page does not state a plan amount.
Ruby: an upgraded plan can outlast the storm. "Upgrades are effective immediately and apply to the then-current monthly billing period and at least the subsequent two consecutive billing periods" (Ruby terms, read October 7, 2026). A roofing shop that raises its plan for one busy spell should cost out those later cycles too. Ruby's terms also round calls up to whole minutes and include hold and after-call work, while its site offers emergency escalation for home services. At 100 three-minute calls its indexed cost is $1,160, before any added time.
Specialty Answering Service: plan adjustment is an option during early usage. Its registration FAQ (read October 7, 2026) says the system can upgrade an account during its first six months when usage exceeds the current plan threshold. The terms authorize an increase or upgrade to a plan that matches usage. A high-volume storm month inside that window may change the selected tier. The provider also bills after-call documentation and charges separately for patching. Confirm the selected plan, the rule for returning to a smaller one, and how each dispatch attempt appears on an invoice. The roofers service page describes on-call dispatch, but it does not establish a ServiceTitan or Jobber integration.
Moneypenny: every attempted dispatch leg is billed. Its terms say "the entire time that our agents are attempting to dispatch a call or calls" is billable (Moneypenny phone terms, read October 7, 2026). The terms also add wrap-up time before rounding to the next half minute. Moneypenny names roofing on its home-services page and offers on-call escalation, but a leak routed through several unavailable crew members can use more plan time than the initial conversation. Ask how failed legs appear in the call record.
AnswerForce: dispatch time draws from minutes. The service says its receptionists can call on-call technicians (AnswerForce home services, read October 7, 2026). Its terms include hold and patch time, and its help center includes after-call work in the minute count (read October 7, 2026). That makes a multi-attempt emergency handoff different from a short message. Ask whether a failed contact leads to another billable attempt and who receives the escalation if no roofer answers. AnswerForce, AnswerConnect and LEX Reception share the AnywhereWorks contract; they are separate brands, not separate fallback suppliers.
Smith.ai: a flat call price has an intake limit. Its live receptionist terms require extended intake to average no more than 120 seconds (Smith.ai terms, read October 7, 2026). That may be tight for a caller describing storm damage, insurance and access. Ask for the exact script, the relevant add-on and what happens to calls that run long. The table's $915 at 100 calls does not include an unselected add-on. Smith.ai says spam, misdials and no-message calls do not count when caller ID passes; that is useful when storm advertising also attracts unrelated calls.
Roofing lead intake and dispatch setup
Separate the script into two lanes. Urgent routing covers active water entry or a safety concern and attempts the on-call contact in the agreed order. Estimate intake gets the address, damage type, roof material if known, preferred inspection window and callback permission. That avoids asking a receptionist to diagnose a roof or promise an insurance outcome. Test a failed warm transfer and a caller who hangs up after the address. Ask the provider what is billed for both.
The calendar and job system matter as much as the greeting. AnswerForce lists ServiceTitan, Jobber and Housecall Pro, and its ServiceTitan page describes new leads through Zapier (read October 7, 2026). PATLive describes three Jobber paths: access to your account, a scheduling link, or an API connection that adds contacts after a call (read October 7, 2026). Smith.ai points Jobber users to a Zapier setup; its ServiceTitan page says answered calls appear in ServiceTitan (read October 7, 2026). Nexa displays ServiceTitan and Housecall Pro logos on its home-services page, but a logo alone does not specify whether a lead is created, an appointment is booked, or a technician is dispatched.
| Service | Roofing tool | What the vendor states | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| AnswerForce | ServiceTitan | New leads through a Zapier connection | ServiceTitan integration, read October 7, 2026 |
| PATLive | Jobber | Account login, scheduling link or API contact creation | Jobber help, read October 7, 2026 |
| Smith.ai | Jobber | Zapier instructions for client profile creation | Jobber integration, read October 7, 2026 |
| Nexa | ServiceTitan and Housecall Pro | Logos shown; the exact workflow is unstated | Home-services page, read October 7, 2026 |
For each tool, run a real test with permission: one routine estimate, one urgent leak, one failed transfer and one duplicate caller. Check whether the right address, callback number and notes reach the right job record. Have the vendor show the activity log and the corresponding bill. A claim of integration is less useful than confirming that a dispatcher can act on the record immediately.
Which service fits which roofing situation?
A quiet-month message and dispatch operation: Specialty Answering Service
Among the nine services with computable prices in this table, Specialty Answering Service costs the least at 50 three-minute calls: $231. Its roofers page describes on-call dispatch. The tradeoff is that patching and documentation can add billable time or fees beyond this three-minute model, and its early automatic upgrade rule needs review before a storm. At 100 calls, Go Answer costs $345 versus Specialty's $384.20.
A higher-volume live answering month: Go Answer
Go Answer costs the least among the nine computable rows at 100 three-minute calls ($345), 200 calls ($700) and 300 calls ($1,050). Its per-second billing avoids whole-minute rounding, but summary and disconnection time are chargeable. Its marketing and terms disagree about setup fees, and its FAQ asks for written cancellation notice. Confirm the operational dispatch script before choosing on price alone.
A field-service workflow: AnswerForce
AnswerForce's ServiceTitan lead creation and on-call technician dispatch are documented, and its cost is $389 at 100 three-minute calls. It has a 90-day minimum in its terms, and patching plus after-call work use plan minutes. A contractor who already runs scheduling in ServiceTitan may value that documented flow; the integration should be tested against the exact intake fields and emergency rota. See AnswerForce pricing for plan and cancellation detail.
A quote for a tailored roofing workflow: Nexa
Nexa names roofing emergency dispatch and scheduling but does not publish its plan price. Ask for a quote at the same call volumes and length as the table, with explicit allowances for after-call work, dispatch, holiday fees and the contract's system time. Also ask whether AI answers any category of roofing calls under the proposed service plan. A quote that does not specify those fields cannot be placed fairly beside published rates. See Nexa pricing for the terms behind the request.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can a roofing answering service dispatch a crew after hours?
Yes, if the provider and contractor agree on an on-call routing script. AnswerForce says its receptionists can contact on-call technicians, and Nexa markets roofing emergency dispatch. Test what happens when the first contact does not answer, and ask whether each additional attempt uses billable time.
Will a storm-week surge make my roofing plan more expensive?
It can, because extra calls use more minutes or exceed a plan allowance. At 100 three-minute calls, Go Answer costs $345; at 200 such calls, it costs $700. Ruby's upgraded plans can also remain in place beyond the busy month under its terms.
Can a roofing receptionist book inspections in Jobber or ServiceTitan?
Some services document a connection, but the workflow differs. PATLive describes Jobber access, scheduling links and API contact creation; AnswerForce describes ServiceTitan lead creation through Zapier. Ask whether your chosen setup creates an inspection appointment, a contact, or only a message, then test it with a sample call.
What should a roofing receptionist ask a storm-damage caller?
Use the contractor's approved script. A practical starting set is the property address, safe callback number, whether water is entering, whether an inspection is requested, and the preferred contact window. Keep the routing decision with the contractor and avoid promises about repair timing or insurance coverage.
Is a per-call roofing service cheaper than a per-minute one?
It depends on call volume and length. Smith.ai Virtual Receptionists charges per call, while the other priced services in the main table use minutes. At 100 three-minute calls, Smith.ai costs $915 and Go Answer costs $345; longer intake and add-ons can change what the invoice includes.
How these prices were read
Every price on this page was read from the vendor's own pricing page, on the date in its Source cell, and saved as a dated capture. Monthly plans use the cheapest published plan plus overage at 3-minute calls. AnswerAmerica shows the least upfront prepaid credit purchase covering that call volume; unused credits roll over. Vendors that hide prices stay in the tables as quote only. We do not test answering quality and publish no ratings.
Sources
Vendor pricing and terms pages, from the price index
- AnswerForce: answerforce.com/plans-direct (read October 7, 2026); answerforce.com/termsofservice (read October 7, 2026)
- Answering Service Care: answeringservicecare.com/pricing (read October 12, 2026); answeringservicecare.com/terms-and-conditions (read October 9, 2026)
- Go Answer: goanswer.io/pricing/live-receptionist (read October 12, 2026); goanswer.io/terms-conditions (read October 7, 2026)
- Moneypenny (US): moneypenny.com/us/plans-pricing-people (read October 12, 2026); cdn.prod.website-files.com/6a06eb94845f8e1701b7e7f1/6aaa99366734be94e463cc1b_us-terms-and-conditions.pdf (read October 7, 2026)
- Nexa: nexa.com/pricing (read October 12, 2026); nexa.com/legal/terms-conditions (read October 7, 2026)
- PATLive: patlive.com/pricing (read October 12, 2026); patlive.com/terms-of-use (read October 7, 2026)
- Posh: posh.com/pricing (read October 12, 2026); posh.com/terms (read October 7, 2026)
- Ruby: ruby.com/plans-and-pricing (read October 12, 2026); ruby.com/terms (read October 7, 2026)
- Smith.ai Virtual Receptionists: smith.ai/pricing/receptionists (read October 12, 2026); smith.ai/receptionists/terms (read October 7, 2026)
- Specialty Answering Service: specialtyansweringservice.net/pricing (read October 12, 2026); specialtyansweringservice.net/terms (read October 7, 2026)
Other pages quoted
- NOAA, Assessing the U.S. Climate in 2024, published 2025.
- PATLive terms, read October 7, 2026.
- Posh terms, read October 7, 2026.
- Nexa terms, read October 7, 2026.
- Ruby terms, read October 7, 2026.
- Specialty Answering Service terms, read October 7, 2026.
- AnswerForce home services, read October 7, 2026.
- Moneypenny phone terms, read October 7, 2026.
- Smith.ai receptionist terms, read October 7, 2026.
Changes to these prices
- Clarified Alert Communications and Nexa trial summaries from "None" to "None found": the reviewed public pages do not offer trial terms, but do not establish that no private offer exists.
- Added AnswerForce published 1,200, 1,500, 2,000, 3,500, 5,000 and 10,000-minute plans from the pricing page JavaScript captured October 7, 2026. Each lists $1.85 per additional minute or chat. A prior pass missed these plans because its text capture stopped at 1,000 minutes.
- AnswerConnect and LEX Reception priced from their own /plans-direct pages, including setup fees and larger plans. PATLive added its 2,000 to 5,000-minute tiers. AnswerAmerica added with exact prepaid credit packages; comparison costs show the least upfront package purchase covering the call volume, with unused credits rolling over. Its terms charge wrong numbers and hangups, contrary to its price page. ReceptionHQ MessageExpress named in full. Specialty Answering Service cancellation summary and setup-fee summaries corrected. AI product terms added for Go Answer, Moneypenny and Smith.ai. The initial AnswerForce text capture appeared to stop at 1,000 minutes; the larger plans were later found in saved page JavaScript.
- Published plans that were on pages already read but missing here. ReceptionHQ ReceptionistPlus added as its own live row (messages and call transfers, no scope note; read October 5, 2026): from $35 a month plus $2.99 a call to $2,440 for 1,000 calls, from its ReceptionistPlus page and the price table in ReceptionHQ's terms (read October 7, 2026), with its own billing terms ($0.30 a call after hours, $0.30 per transfer). ReceptionHQ (MessageExpress, still message-taking only): 150, 250, 350 and 450 calls ($250, $395, $540 and $675) from the same terms table. Specialty Answering Service: 2,500, 5,000 and 10,000 minutes ($2,929, $5,649 and $10,599, overage $1.19 to $1.09 a minute) from its pricing page (read October 5, 2026), and hold time added to what its per-minute billing covers, from its rates page (read October 7, 2026). Go Answer: 1,700, 2,500, 5,000 and 10,000 minutes ($1,870, $2,750, $5,500 and $11,000, overage $1.40 and $1.25 a minute) from its pricing page (read October 5, 2026). Ruby: 1,500, 2,000 and 2,500 minutes ($4,945, $6,400 and $7,875, overage $3.50 to $3.30 a minute) from its help center (read October 7, 2026).
- Plans and rates that were on the captured pages but missing here: My AI Front Desk overage $0.25 a minute (25 credits at $0.01), Go Answer 750 minutes ($825), AnswerForce 800 minutes ($1,069), ReceptionHQ MessageExpress 400 and 500 calls ($610 and $725), and ReceptionHQ's $0.20 after-hours surcharge per MessageExpress call.
- Billing terms added for 18 providers from their terms, FAQ and help pages (read October 7, 2026): billing unit, rounding, time billed beyond the call, spam billing, setup fee, contract and trial. Alert Communications added (law firms only, kept out of the ranges). AnswerForce prices added from its /plans-direct page (Intro $349 for 200 minutes, Best value $389 for 300). VoiceNation now redirects to Moneypenny.
- Ruby: overage rates added from its help center ($5.40/min on the 50-minute plan down to $3.65 on 1,000 minutes), plus the 350, 750 and 1,000 minute plans published there. Ruby's pricing page still shows no overage rate. Abby Professional overage corrected to $2.99 per Abby Minute (its terms and help center), from $3.00 computed as price divided by minutes.
- Sameday AI added (home services only, read October 5, 2026): Launch from $449/month with 500 minutes, Scale from $789/month with 1,000 minutes. Like Slang.ai, it is listed but kept out of the category ranges because it serves one vertical.
- First edition: 30 providers read from their own pricing pages. AnswerConnect, AnswerForce, LEX Reception, Answering Legal and Nexa ask for a form or a sales call before showing a price, so they are listed as quote only. VoiceNation publishes the same plan table as Moneypenny (US), so that table is listed once, under Moneypenny.
Download the data
The first table on this page (CSV, 10 rows). The full price index (CSV), free to reuse under CC BY 4.0.
How to cite this page
AnsweringPrices.com, Best Answering Services for Roofing Companies 2026: Storm Calls Priced, prices checked October 12, 2026, https://www.answeringprices.com/for/roofing/