Month-to-Month Answering Services 2026: Contract Terms, Notice and Who Keeps Your Number
Published . Updated . Prices checked October 12, 2026.

Key takeaways
- At 100 three-minute calls, monthly plans in the table span $170 to $1,160 (checked from October 12, 2026). AnswerAmerica uses prepaid credits instead.
- AnswerConnect and AnswerForce describe rolling monthly contracts, but their terms set a 90-day minimum; AnswerFirst's terms tie each plan to a Contract Period set in its proposal.
- For a short exit, ReceptionHQ needs 3 days' notice by email; at 100 calls it costs $170 for messages or $260 with transfers.
- Moneypenny's terms take your first and last month's fees plus a setup fee before service starts, and a cancellation after the 1st of a month adds another full month.
- Go Answer, AnswerFirst, Specialty Answering Service and ReceptionHQ keep the numbers they assign when you leave; PATLive keeps any number still on the account once a cancellation takes effect.
In this guide
- Month-to-month answering services in the United States: prices and contracts
- Contract terms compared: minimum term, notice, the last month and your number
- Prepaid without a monthly subscription: AnswerAmerica
- Which answering services are month-to-month with no contract minimum
- How much notice each answering service needs to cancel
- The month you leave: proration and refunds
- Money you pay before the first call
- Who keeps your phone number when you leave
- What one more month costs at 50, 100 and 200 calls
- Which month-to-month answering service fits which situation
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Sources
With prices checked on or after October 12, 2026, the monthly plans in this table run from $170 to $1,160 at 100 three-minute calls. 14 of 17 live and hybrid services with classified subscription terms are month-to-month (terms read October 5 to 9, 2026). Notice, an unrefunded month and the assigned number can still make leaving costly.
Month-to-month answering services in the United States: prices and contracts
Prices checked from October 12, 2026; each Source cell gives that vendor's read date.
| Service | Billing unit | Entry plan | 50 calls/mo | 100 calls/mo | 200 calls/mo | Overage | Contract | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alert Communicationslaw firms only | Per minute (per-event billing allowed) | $240/month (100 minutes) | $375 | $750 | $1,500 | Not published | Month-to-month; written notice one month before the next invoice | alertcommunications.com/plans, read Oct 7, 2026 |
| AnswerConnect | Per minute | $350/month (200 minutes) | $350 | $395 | $887.50 | $1.75 to $2.50 a minute | 90-day minimum, then written notice; a partial month is billed in full | answerconnect.com/plans-direct, read Oct 9, 2026 |
| AnswerFirst | Per minute | $30/month (pay per use at $1.60 to $1.95/min) | $270 to $322.50 | $510 to $615 | $990 to $1,200 | $1.60 to $1.95 a minute | No contract unless the proposal sets one; dedicated agents carry a 2-year minimum | answerfirst.com/pricing, read Oct 12, 2026 |
| AnswerForce | Per minute | $349/month (200 minutes) | $349 | $389 | $854 | $1.85 to $2.00 a minute | 90-day minimum (the help center says month-by-month) | answerforce.com/plans-direct, read Oct 7, 2026 |
| Answering Legal | Per minute | Quote only | Quote only | Quote only | Quote only | Not published | Month-to-month; service runs to the next cycle after notice | answeringlegal.com/answering-service-pricing-plans, read Oct 12, 2026 |
| Answering Service Care | Per minute | $40/month (pay per use at $1.75/min) | $264 | $409 | $774 | $1.35 to $1.70 a minute | Month-to-month on monthly billing; written notice one full billing period ahead; no refunds | answeringservicecare.com/pricing, read Oct 12, 2026 |
| Go Answer | Per minute | $175/month (100 minutes) | $262.50 | $345 | $700 | $1.25 to $1.75 a minute | "Cancel anytime", but the FAQ asks for 30 days written notice; no proration | goanswer.io/pricing/live-receptionist, read Oct 12, 2026 |
| LEX Reception | Per minute | $425/month (150 minutes) | $425 | $450 | $1,000 | $2.25 to $2.75 a minute | Month-to-month with written notice; a partial month is billed in full | lexreception.com/plans-direct, read Oct 9, 2026 |
| MAP Communications | Per minute | $49/month (pay per use at $1.37/min) | $211.50 | $403 | $777 | $1.28 to $1.30 a minute | Month-to-month; written notice one month before the next invoice | mapcommunications.com/pricing, read Oct 12, 2026 |
| Moneypenny | Per minute | $165/month (50 minutes) | $371 | $613 | $1,152 | $1.67 to $2.28 a minute | Month-to-month; one full calendar month notice by phone | moneypenny.com/us/plans-pricing-people, read Oct 12, 2026 |
| Nexa | Per minute (per-event billing allowed) | Quote only | Quote only | Quote only | Quote only | Not published | Month-to-month; written notice one month before the next invoice | nexa.com/pricing, read Oct 12, 2026 |
| PATLive | Per minute | $49/month (pay per use at $2.99/min) | $293.50 | $479 | $938 | $1.49 to $2.29 a minute | Month-to-month | patlive.com/pricing, read Oct 12, 2026 |
| Posh | Per minute | $65/month (pay per use at $2.30/min) | $322.50 | $630 | $1,170 | $1.90 to $2.20 a minute | Month-to-month; cancels at the end of the cycle; non-refundable | posh.com/pricing, read Oct 12, 2026 |
| Ruby | Per minute | $250/month (50 minutes) | $620 | $1,160 | $2,125 | $3.30 to $5.40 a minute | 30-day contract that renews automatically | ruby.com/plans-and-pricing, read Oct 12, 2026 |
| Specialty Answering Service | Per minute or per call | $44/month (pay per use at $1.54/min) | $231 | $384.20 | $783 | $1.09 to $1.44 a minute | Three cancellation rules on the site and a fourth in the terms; no proration | specialtyansweringservice.net/pricing, read Oct 12, 2026 |
| ReceptionHQmessages only, no transfers | Per call (MessageExpress) | $25/month (pay per use at $1.99/call) | $90 | $170 | $325 | $1.85 to $1.99 a call | Month-to-month; email 3 days before renewal | receptionhq.com/service/live-call-answering/message-taking, read Oct 12, 2026 |
| ReceptionHQ ReceptionistPlus | Per call | $35/month (pay per use at $2.99/call) | $135 | $260 | $505 | $2.99 a call | Month-to-month; email 3 days before renewal | receptionhq.com/service/live-call-answering/virtual-receptionist, read Oct 12, 2026 |
| Smith.ai Virtual Receptionists | Per call | $300/month (30 calls) | $530 | $915 | $1,965 | $8.50 to $11.50 a call | Cancel 30 days before the cycle ends or the next month is billed; annual plans prepaid and non-refundable | smith.ai/pricing/receptionists, read Oct 12, 2026 |
| Abby Connectlive and AI | Abby Minute (one AI minute counts as half) | $165/month (50 minutes) | $493.50 | $898 | $1,656 | $2.76 to $3.30 a minute | Month-to-month; 30 days notice after the first 30 days; no refunds | abby.com/pricing, read Oct 12, 2026 |
Our arithmetic: each vendor's cheapest published plan for that volume plus its published overage, at 3-minute calls. Taxes, pass-through fees, setup fees and add-ons are not included. How we price.
Answering Legal and Nexa remain quote only. AnswerConnect and LEX Reception publish plans on direct plan pages although their public pricing paths ask for contact details. Their rows show the published costs and overage; their contract terms are in the next table. AnswerConnect, AnswerForce and LEX Reception share an owner, and Alert's terms match Nexa's: see who owns which answering service. The table prices monthly plan charges. AnswerAmerica's prepaid credits are covered separately below.
On a short stay, also check the plan-dependent setup fee and overage:
- AnswerConnect setup fee and overage: $49.99 on Entry and Standard; none on Growth; $1.75 to $2.50 a minute.
- LEX Reception setup fee and overage: $75 on Entry; none from 300 minutes; $2.25 to $2.75 a minute.
Contract terms compared: minimum term, notice, the last month and your number
Each row comes from the vendor's terms, FAQ and help pages (vendor terms, read October 5 to 9, 2026); the quotes follow.
| Service | Minimum term | Notice to cancel | The month you leave | Paid in advance | Phone number they assign | Terms |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Abby Connect | None | None in the first 30 days, then 30 days | No proration, no refunds | Not stated | Stays Abby's; port-away allowed after 30 days | abby.com |
| AnswerConnect | 90 days | Written notice after the 90 days | A partial month is billed in full | Plan fee | Not published | answerconnect.com |
| AnswerFirst | Set in your proposal; 2 years for dedicated agents | Before the next billing date | No proration or refund | Not stated | Stays AnswerFirst's; transfer fee | answerfirst.com |
| AnswerForce | 90 days | Written notice after the 90 days | A partial month is billed in full | First month | Not published | answerforce.com |
| Answering Legal | None | Written notice | Plan runs to the next billing cycle | Not stated | Stays Answering Legal's | answeringlegal.com |
| Answering Service Care | One billing period, renewing | One full billing period, in writing | No refunds | Plan fee; annual maintenance fee a year ahead | Not published | answeringservicecare.com |
| Go Answer | None (90 days for dedicated agents) | Terms: none; FAQ: 30 days in writing | Current month plus last month's usage, no proration | Plan fee, plus setup fee | Stays Go Answer's, even a number you brought | goanswer.io |
| LEX Reception | None in the US; 30 days in Canada | Written notice | A partial month is billed in full | Not stated | Not published | lexreception.com |
| MAP Communications | None | 1 month before the next invoice, in writing | Non-refundable | Not stated | No property rights | mapcommunications.com |
| Moneypenny | None | One full calendar month, by phone | Cancel after the 1st: another full month | First and last month, plus setup fee | Not published | Moneypenny terms |
| Nexa and Alert Communications | None unless your Service Plan sets one | 1 month before the next invoice, in writing | Non-refundable | Invoice due 30 days after issue | No property rights | nexa.com |
| PATLive | None | None; cancel by phone or online | Two help articles disagree on proration | Plan fee | Port out before you cancel; then PATLive's | patlive.com |
| Posh | None | Written request, effective at cycle end | Non-refundable | Not stated | No property rights | posh.com |
| ReceptionHQboth plan families | None | 3 days before renewal, by email | No refund | Plan fee, plus a prepaid usage credit | Stays ReceptionHQ's | receptionhq.com |
| Ruby | 30 days, renewing | Before the next invoice date | No refunds for partial periods | Plan fee | Port-away allowed, with conditions | ruby.com |
| Smith.ai Virtual Receptionists | None; optional prepaid 6, 12 and 24-month plans | 30 days before the cycle ends | Late notice bills the next month | Long-term plans | Not published | smith.ai |
| Specialty Answering Service | 1 month | Four different rules (see its page) | No proration | Plan fee, a month ahead | Stays SAS's; no port-away | specialtyansweringservice.net |
Prepaid without a monthly subscription: AnswerAmerica
AnswerAmerica sells message taking by prepaid call credit. Its package page says “Credits Rollover” (answeramerica.com/packages, read October 9, 2026). The first purchase starts at $50 prepaid for 34 calls; enough packages for 100 calls cost $150 upfront. That is cash paid for credits, not a monthly charge. Unused credits roll over, subject to the vendor's inactivity terms. This is a narrower message-taking service without call transfers.
There is no monthly subscription to cancel. The terms say service ends when the balance reaches zero or after more than 30 days without traffic, and do not guarantee that an assigned number remains available afterward (read October 9, 2026). The package page advertises a one-credit monthly inactivity charge, while the terms permit ending service after 30 days without traffic. Confirm how rollover works if calls pause. AnswerAmerica is outside the monthly-plan table above and outside the structured month-to-month contract count.
Which answering services are month-to-month with no contract minimum
3 of 17 live and hybrid services with classified subscription terms set a minimum longer than a month: AnswerConnect, AnswerFirst and AnswerForce (vendor terms, read October 5 to 9, 2026). Each says otherwise somewhere else.
- AnswerConnect. A service page: "Upgrade or downgrade your plan at any time with our monthly rolling contracts." (answerconnect.com, read October 7, 2026) The terms: "This Agreement will be in effect for a minimum period of 90 calendar days." (answerconnect.com/termsofservice, read October 7, 2026)
- AnswerForce. Its help center: "We work on a month-by-month rolling contract." (answerforce.com support, read October 7, 2026) Its terms carry the same 90-day clause and say every promise that led you to sign is "contained expressly herein" (answerforce.com/termsofservice, read October 7, 2026).
- AnswerFirst. Its FAQ says no contract; its terms tie the plan to a "Contract Period" set in your proposal (AnswerFirst pricing quotes both).
LEX Reception, the third AnywhereWorks brand, is month-to-month in its US terms; its Canadian terms add "a minimum period of 30 calendar days" (lexreception.com/ca, read October 7, 2026).
How much notice each answering service needs to cancel
7 of 16 live and hybrid services that publish a notice rule want warning before you cancel: Abby Connect, Answering Service Care, MAP Communications, Moneypenny (US), Nexa, ReceptionHQ MessageExpress and Smith.ai Virtual Receptionists (vendor terms, read October 7 to 9, 2026). Four of them sound looser on a sales page:
- Moneypenny. Pricing page: "just 30 days' notice needed to cancel, effective from your next billing date" (moneypenny.com, read October 5, 2026). Terms: "if Services are canceled after the 1st calendar day of the month, the Customer will be responsible for payment of another full month" (Moneypenny terms, read October 7, 2026). You cancel by phone.
- MAP Communications. Trial page: "Cancel, upgrade, or downgrade anytime with no fees." (mapcommunications.com, read October 7, 2026) Terms: written notice "at least 1 month prior to your next invoice due date" (mapcommunications.com/terms, read October 7, 2026). Nexa's terms use the same words.
- Smith.ai Virtual Receptionists. Pricing FAQ: "If you ever cancel, we bill for and through the end of the current monthly billing cycle, and then you're done." (smith.ai, read October 5, 2026) Terms: cancel "at least thirty (30) days prior to the end of the current subscription cycle" (smith.ai terms, read October 7, 2026).
- Answering Service Care. Pricing FAQ: "We don't lock you into long-term contracts." (answeringservicecare.com/pricing, read October 9, 2026) Terms: notice "at least one (1) full billing period in advance" (answeringservicecare.com, read October 9, 2026), which on annual billing reads as a year (our reading).
Abby Connect needs no notice in "the first 30 days of a paid Subscription Service" (abby.com terms, read October 7, 2026). Go Answer's terms and FAQ disagree (Go Answer pricing), and Specialty Answering Service gives three rules on its site and a fourth in its terms (Specialty Answering Service pricing).
The month you leave: proration and refunds
No contract we read sets an early termination fee. The cost of leaving is the month you leave in.
- PATLive's help articles disagree. One: "We do not automatically refund or pro-rate the monthly service charge that is paid upfront each month." (help.patlive.com, read October 7, 2026) The Flex billing article: "Final bills are automatically prorated." (help.patlive.com, read October 7, 2026)
- AnswerConnect, AnswerForce and LEX Reception bill "each whole or partial month during which this Agreement remains in effect" (answerconnect.com terms, read October 7, 2026).
- Ruby: "there are no refunds or credits for partially used periods" (ruby.com/terms, read October 7, 2026). Abby Connect: "We do not prorate subscription fees" (abby.com terms). MAP Communications, Posh and Nexa: "Subscription fees are non-refundable" (posh.com/terms, read October 7, 2026).
Money you pay before the first call
Moneypenny takes two months at once: "Payment of Fees for your first and last month's service plus any options and initial setup fee are required in order to process your order" (Moneypenny terms, read October 7, 2026). Its entry plan is $165/month (50 minutes), so signing up costs two of those months plus a setup fee its pricing page does not show.
AnswerForce bills usage in arrears, but "the money will be prepaid for the first month to initiate the service" (answerforce.com support, read October 7, 2026). ReceptionHQ may hold a prepaid usage credit (ReceptionHQ pricing quotes it). Answering Service Care bills an annual maintenance fee "in advance for the upcoming year", amount not published (answeringservicecare.com terms, read October 9, 2026).
Who keeps your phone number when you leave
- PATLive ports for free: "We do not charge any fees to port your number in to or out of PATLive." (patlive.com/faqs, read October 7, 2026) But numbers left on the account "become property of PATLive" once a cancellation is effective (patlive.com/terms-of-use, read October 7, 2026). Port first, then cancel.
- Ruby allows port-away for an assigned number held "more than 21 days", and may reassign numbers "not ported back within three months after termination" (ruby.com/terms, read October 7, 2026).
- Abby Connect: "Any telephone number ported to Abby Connect by you shall remain your property." (abby.com terms, read October 7, 2026)
- MAP Communications, Posh and Nexa: "You have no property rights to any telephone number" they assign (posh.com/terms, read October 7, 2026). Answering Legal: assigned numbers "remain the property of Answering Legal" (answeringlegal.com, read October 7, 2026).
- Go Answer keeps even a number you transferred in, AnswerFirst charges to transfer one away, and Specialty Answering Service allows no port-away (each quoted on its pricing page linked above).
Forward your own number to the service instead of advertising theirs, and leaving means changing a forward.
What one more month costs at 50, 100 and 200 calls
The notice month bills at your usual volume. For the services that want a month or more:
| Service | 50 calls/mo | 100 calls/mo | 200 calls/mo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Abby Connect | $493.50 | $898 | $1,656 |
| Answering Service Care | $264 | $409 | $774 |
| MAP Communications | $211.50 | $403 | $777 |
| Moneypenny | $371 | $613 | $1,152 |
| Smith.ai Virtual Receptionists | $530 | $915 | $1,965 |
Same arithmetic as the first table. Nexa publishes no price.
A 90-day minimum works the same way. 100 three-minute calls are 300 minutes; AnswerForce charges $389/month for 300 minutes, so 100 calls cost $389 a month for at least 90 days. Try other volumes in the answering service cost calculator.
Which month-to-month answering service fits which situation
Best monthly plan for a short exit at a low price: ReceptionHQ
Both ReceptionHQ plan families cancel by email three days before renewal. At 100 three-minute calls, MessageExpress costs $170 and ReceptionistPlus, which transfers calls, $260: the lowest and second-lowest monthly charges among the priced services in the table. ReceptionHQ keeps the number it assigns.
Best per-minute plan with no minimum term at 100 to 200 calls: Go Answer
At 100 and 200 three-minute calls, Go Answer costs $345 and $700, less than every other service in the table that bills by the minute and publishes a price. At 50 calls, MAP Communications ($211.50) and Specialty Answering Service ($231) cost less than Go Answer ($262.50). Its FAQ asks for 30 days' written notice, and its numbers stay with it.
Best for keeping your numberPATLive
PATLive ports numbers free and needs no notice to cancel. At 100 three-minute calls it costs $479, less than Ruby ($1,160) and Abby Connect ($898), the other two services in the table whose terms let you port an assigned number away. Port before you cancel.
Best for a trial with no card and no notice periodPosh
- Trial: 7 days or 250 minutes, no card
4 of 6 live and hybrid services that state a card rule for their trial need no card: Answering Legal, MAP Communications, Posh and ReceptionHQ MessageExpress (vendor terms, read October 5 to 7, 2026). Posh cancels on a written request at the cycle's end and costs $322.50 at 50 three-minute calls. MAP Communications costs less at 50 calls ($211.50) but wants a month's written notice. Posh's fees are non-refundable.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are there answering services with no contract?
Yes. 14 of 17 live and hybrid services with classified subscription terms are month-to-month (vendor terms, read October 5 to 9, 2026), and AnswerConnect, AnswerFirst and AnswerForce set a longer minimum. Month-to-month plans can still carry notice and unrefunded months. AnswerAmerica has no monthly subscription; it sells prepaid call credits that roll over while service remains active.
Can I cancel an answering service at any time?
At 9 of 16 live and hybrid services that publish a notice rule, yes, effective at the end of the billing period and after any minimum term. The rest want notice, from three days by email at ReceptionHQ to a full billing period in writing at Answering Service Care.
Do answering services charge a cancellation fee?
None of the contracts we read sets an early termination fee. Leaving costs the notice period and the month you leave in: AnswerConnect, AnswerForce and LEX Reception bill a partial month in full, and MAP Communications, Posh and Nexa call subscription fees non-refundable.
Can I keep my phone number if I switch answering services?
A number you own and forward to the service stays yours. A number the service assigns usually stays with it: Go Answer, Specialty Answering Service, Answering Legal and ReceptionHQ keep theirs. PATLive, Ruby and Abby Connect let you port an assigned number away under their own conditions, and at PATLive you must port before cancelling.
How these prices were read
Every price on this page was read from the vendor's own pricing page, on the date in its Source cell, and saved as a dated capture. Monthly plans use the cheapest published plan plus overage at 3-minute calls. AnswerAmerica shows the least upfront prepaid credit purchase covering that call volume; unused credits roll over. Vendors that hide prices stay in the tables as quote only. We do not test answering quality and publish no ratings.
Sources
Vendor pricing and terms pages, from the price index
- Abby Connect: abby.com/pricing (read October 12, 2026); abby.com/resources/terms-and-conditions (read October 7, 2026)
- Alert Communications: alertcommunications.com/plans (read October 7, 2026); alertcommunications.com/contract-terms-and-conditions (read October 7, 2026)
- AnswerAmerica: answeramerica.com/packages (read October 9, 2026); answeramerica.com/terms-conditions (read October 9, 2026)
- AnswerConnect: answerconnect.com/plans-direct (read October 9, 2026); answerconnect.com/termsofservice (read October 7, 2026)
- AnswerFirst: answerfirst.com/pricing (read October 12, 2026); answerfirst.com/terms-of-service (read October 7, 2026)
- AnswerForce: answerforce.com/plans-direct (read October 7, 2026); answerforce.com/termsofservice (read October 7, 2026)
- Answering Legal: answeringlegal.com/answering-service-pricing-plans (read October 12, 2026); answeringlegal.com/terms-of-service (read October 7, 2026)
- Answering Service Care: answeringservicecare.com/pricing (read October 12, 2026); answeringservicecare.com/terms-and-conditions (read October 9, 2026)
- Go Answer: goanswer.io/pricing/live-receptionist (read October 12, 2026); goanswer.io/terms-conditions (read October 7, 2026)
- LEX Reception: lexreception.com/plans-direct (read October 9, 2026); lexreception.com/termsofservice (read October 7, 2026)
- MAP Communications: mapcommunications.com/pricing (read October 12, 2026); mapcommunications.com/terms (read October 7, 2026)
- Moneypenny (US): moneypenny.com/us/plans-pricing-people (read October 12, 2026); cdn.prod.website-files.com/6a06eb94845f8e1701b7e7f1/6aaa99366734be94e463cc1b_us-terms-and-conditions.pdf (read October 7, 2026)
- Nexa: nexa.com/pricing (read October 12, 2026); nexa.com/legal/terms-conditions (read October 7, 2026)
- PATLive: patlive.com/pricing (read October 12, 2026); patlive.com/terms-of-use (read October 7, 2026)
- Posh: posh.com/pricing (read October 12, 2026); posh.com/terms (read October 7, 2026)
- ReceptionHQ MessageExpress: receptionhq.com/service/live-call-answering/message-taking (read October 12, 2026); receptionhq.com/call-answering-service-terms (read October 7, 2026)
- ReceptionHQ ReceptionistPlus: receptionhq.com/service/live-call-answering/virtual-receptionist (read October 12, 2026); receptionhq.com/call-answering-service-terms (read October 7, 2026)
- Ruby: ruby.com/plans-and-pricing (read October 12, 2026); ruby.com/terms (read October 7, 2026)
- Smith.ai Virtual Receptionists: smith.ai/pricing/receptionists (read October 12, 2026); smith.ai/receptionists/terms (read October 7, 2026)
- Specialty Answering Service: specialtyansweringservice.net/pricing (read October 12, 2026); specialtyansweringservice.net/terms (read October 7, 2026)
Other pages quoted
- AnswerConnect 24/7 answering service page, read October 7, 2026
- AnswerForce help: contract length and billing cycle, read October 7, 2026
- LEX Reception Canadian terms, read October 7, 2026
- MAP Communications free trial page, read October 7, 2026
- PATLive help: cancelling, Flex billing and FAQs, read October 7, 2026
- Answering Service Care pricing FAQ, read October 9, 2026
Changes to these prices
- Clarified Alert Communications and Nexa trial summaries from "None" to "None found": the reviewed public pages do not offer trial terms, but do not establish that no private offer exists.
- Clarified LEX Reception trial wording from "None" to "None found": the reviewed vendor pages publish no trial offer, but do not establish that the company never offers one.
- Added AnswerForce published 1,200, 1,500, 2,000, 3,500, 5,000 and 10,000-minute plans from the pricing page JavaScript captured October 7, 2026. Each lists $1.85 per additional minute or chat. A prior pass missed these plans because its text capture stopped at 1,000 minutes.
- AnswerConnect and LEX Reception priced from their own /plans-direct pages, including setup fees and larger plans. PATLive added its 2,000 to 5,000-minute tiers. AnswerAmerica added with exact prepaid credit packages; comparison costs show the least upfront package purchase covering the call volume, with unused credits rolling over. Its terms charge wrong numbers and hangups, contrary to its price page. ReceptionHQ MessageExpress named in full. Specialty Answering Service cancellation summary and setup-fee summaries corrected. AI product terms added for Go Answer, Moneypenny and Smith.ai. The initial AnswerForce text capture appeared to stop at 1,000 minutes; the larger plans were later found in saved page JavaScript.
- Published plans that were on pages already read but missing here. ReceptionHQ ReceptionistPlus added as its own live row (messages and call transfers, no scope note; read October 5, 2026): from $35 a month plus $2.99 a call to $2,440 for 1,000 calls, from its ReceptionistPlus page and the price table in ReceptionHQ's terms (read October 7, 2026), with its own billing terms ($0.30 a call after hours, $0.30 per transfer). ReceptionHQ (MessageExpress, still message-taking only): 150, 250, 350 and 450 calls ($250, $395, $540 and $675) from the same terms table. Specialty Answering Service: 2,500, 5,000 and 10,000 minutes ($2,929, $5,649 and $10,599, overage $1.19 to $1.09 a minute) from its pricing page (read October 5, 2026), and hold time added to what its per-minute billing covers, from its rates page (read October 7, 2026). Go Answer: 1,700, 2,500, 5,000 and 10,000 minutes ($1,870, $2,750, $5,500 and $11,000, overage $1.40 and $1.25 a minute) from its pricing page (read October 5, 2026). Ruby: 1,500, 2,000 and 2,500 minutes ($4,945, $6,400 and $7,875, overage $3.50 to $3.30 a minute) from its help center (read October 7, 2026).
- Plans and rates that were on the captured pages but missing here: My AI Front Desk overage $0.25 a minute (25 credits at $0.01), Go Answer 750 minutes ($825), AnswerForce 800 minutes ($1,069), ReceptionHQ MessageExpress 400 and 500 calls ($610 and $725), and ReceptionHQ's $0.20 after-hours surcharge per MessageExpress call.
- Billing terms added for 18 providers from their terms, FAQ and help pages (read October 7, 2026): billing unit, rounding, time billed beyond the call, spam billing, setup fee, contract and trial. Alert Communications added (law firms only, kept out of the ranges). AnswerForce prices added from its /plans-direct page (Intro $349 for 200 minutes, Best value $389 for 300). VoiceNation now redirects to Moneypenny.
- Ruby: overage rates added from its help center ($5.40/min on the 50-minute plan down to $3.65 on 1,000 minutes), plus the 350, 750 and 1,000 minute plans published there. Ruby's pricing page still shows no overage rate. Abby Professional overage corrected to $2.99 per Abby Minute (its terms and help center), from $3.00 computed as price divided by minutes.
- Sameday AI added (home services only, read October 5, 2026): Launch from $449/month with 500 minutes, Scale from $789/month with 1,000 minutes. Like Slang.ai, it is listed but kept out of the category ranges because it serves one vertical.
- First edition: 30 providers read from their own pricing pages. AnswerConnect, AnswerForce, LEX Reception, Answering Legal and Nexa ask for a form or a sales call before showing a price, so they are listed as quote only. VoiceNation publishes the same plan table as Moneypenny (US), so that table is listed once, under Moneypenny.
Download the data
The first table on this page (CSV, 19 rows). The full price index (CSV), free to reuse under CC BY 4.0.
How to cite this page
AnsweringPrices.com, Month-to-Month Answering Services 2026: Contract Terms, Notice and Who Keeps Your Number, prices checked October 12, 2026, https://www.answeringprices.com/month-to-month-answering-service/