AnsweringPrices.com

Answering Service Hidden Fees 2026: Setup, Overage, Transfer and After-Hours Charges

Published . Updated . Prices checked October 12, 2026.

A person reviewing a printed invoice at a desk
AI-generated editorial image using Google Gemini Nano Banana 2.1, October 2026

Key takeaways

  • At 100 three-minute calls, live plans and prepaid packages cost $150 to $1,160 before fees (prices checked October 12, 2026).
  • Nexa's blog warns buyers about transfer and report fees as "Hidden Levies"; its own terms allow call transfer, reporting and portal access fees.
  • With no setup or holiday fee in its terms, Specialty Answering Service costs $384.20 at 100 calls, less than PATLive, Posh or Smith.ai.
  • 3 of 8 live and hybrid services with a standard setup charge publish no amount; Ruby and Answering Legal permit conditional fees too.
In this guide
  1. Answering service pricing before setup, transfer and after-hours fees
  2. Answering service hidden fees, vendor by vendor
  3. Setup fees: what the terms charge that the pricing page leaves out
  4. Telecom, carrier and compliance fees
  5. Transfer fees and time billed while a call is patched
  6. Holiday and after-hours fees
  7. Bilingual surcharges
  8. Programming and change fees
  9. Card surcharges, late fees and other payment charges
  10. Overage charged before the month ends
  11. Spam calls: billed or free
  12. What the fees add at 100 calls
  13. Which answering service fits which situation
  14. Frequently Asked Questions
  15. Sources

As of October 12, 2026, published live plans and prepaid packages cost $150 to $1,160 (low end AnswerAmerica, prepaid message-taking only, no transfers; unused credits roll over) for 100 three-minute calls a month, before extra fees. The prepaid low end is upfront cash; credits roll over. Terms add setup, telecom, transfer, holiday, bilingual, card and late fees.

Answering service pricing before setup, transfer and after-hours fees

Prices checked against each vendor's own pricing page on October 12, 2026.

ServiceBilling unitEntry plan50 calls/mo100 calls/mo200 calls/moOverageContractSource
AnswerAmericaprepaid messages onlyPrepaid, one credit per call$50 prepaid for 34 calls$80$150$280Not publishedNo monthly subscription; service ends at zero balance or after inactivityansweramerica.com/packages, read Oct 9, 2026
AnswerConnectPer minute$350/month (200 minutes)$350$395$887.50$1.75 to $2.50 a minute90-day minimum, then written notice; a partial month is billed in fullanswerconnect.com/plans-direct, read Oct 9, 2026
AnswerFirstPer minute$30/month (pay per use at $1.60 to $1.95/min)$270 to $322.50$510 to $615$990 to $1,200$1.60 to $1.95 a minuteNo contract unless the proposal sets one; dedicated agents carry a 2-year minimumanswerfirst.com/pricing, read Oct 12, 2026
AnswerForcePer minute$349/month (200 minutes)$349$389$854$1.85 to $2.00 a minute90-day minimum (the help center says month-by-month)answerforce.com/plans-direct, read Oct 7, 2026
Answering LegalPer minuteQuote onlyQuote onlyQuote onlyQuote onlyNot publishedMonth-to-month; service runs to the next cycle after noticeansweringlegal.com/answering-service-pricing-plans, read Oct 12, 2026
Answering Service CarePer minute$40/month (pay per use at $1.75/min)$264$409$774$1.35 to $1.70 a minuteMonth-to-month on monthly billing; written notice one full billing period ahead; no refundsansweringservicecare.com/pricing, read Oct 12, 2026
Go AnswerPer minute$175/month (100 minutes)$262.50$345$700$1.25 to $1.75 a minute"Cancel anytime", but the FAQ asks for 30 days written notice; no prorationgoanswer.io/pricing/live-receptionist, read Oct 12, 2026
LEX ReceptionPer minute$425/month (150 minutes)$425$450$1,000$2.25 to $2.75 a minuteMonth-to-month with written notice; a partial month is billed in fulllexreception.com/plans-direct, read Oct 9, 2026
MAP CommunicationsPer minute$49/month (pay per use at $1.37/min)$211.50$403$777$1.28 to $1.30 a minuteMonth-to-month; written notice one month before the next invoicemapcommunications.com/pricing, read Oct 12, 2026
MoneypennyPer minute$165/month (50 minutes)$371$613$1,152$1.67 to $2.28 a minuteMonth-to-month; one full calendar month notice by phonemoneypenny.com/us/plans-pricing-people, read Oct 12, 2026
NexaPer minute (per-event billing allowed)Quote onlyQuote onlyQuote onlyQuote onlyNot publishedMonth-to-month; written notice one month before the next invoicenexa.com/pricing, read Oct 12, 2026
PATLivePer minute$49/month (pay per use at $2.99/min)$293.50$479$938$1.49 to $2.29 a minuteMonth-to-monthpatlive.com/pricing, read Oct 12, 2026
PoshPer minute$65/month (pay per use at $2.30/min)$322.50$630$1,170$1.90 to $2.20 a minuteMonth-to-month; cancels at the end of the cycle; non-refundableposh.com/pricing, read Oct 12, 2026
RubyPer minute$250/month (50 minutes)$620$1,160$2,125$3.30 to $5.40 a minute30-day contract that renews automaticallyruby.com/plans-and-pricing, read Oct 12, 2026
Specialty Answering ServicePer minute or per call$44/month (pay per use at $1.54/min)$231$384.20$783$1.09 to $1.44 a minuteThree cancellation rules on the site and a fourth in the terms; no prorationspecialtyansweringservice.net/pricing, read Oct 12, 2026
ReceptionHQ MessageExpressmessages only, no transfersPer call (MessageExpress)$25/month (pay per use at $1.99/call)$90$170$325$1.85 to $1.99 a callMonth-to-month; email 3 days before renewalreceptionhq.com/service/live-call-answering/message-taking, read Oct 12, 2026
ReceptionHQ ReceptionistPluswith transfersPer call$35/month (pay per use at $2.99/call)$135$260$505$2.99 a callMonth-to-month; email 3 days before renewalreceptionhq.com/service/live-call-answering/virtual-receptionist, read Oct 12, 2026
Smith.ai Virtual ReceptionistsPer call$300/month (30 calls)$530$915$1,965$8.50 to $11.50 a callCancel 30 days before the cycle ends or the next month is billed; annual plans prepaid and non-refundablesmith.ai/pricing/receptionists, read Oct 12, 2026

Our arithmetic: monthly plans plus overage at 3-minute calls; AnswerAmerica shows upfront cash for enough credits, which roll over. Taxes, pass-through fees, setup fees and add-ons are excluded. How we price.

Answering Legal and Nexa do not publish plan prices. AnswerConnect and LEX Reception publish plans on direct pages; their fees also appear in terms. AnswerConnect and AnswerForce are one company (who owns which answering service).

Answering service hidden fees, vendor by vendor

Each row contrasts pricing copy with terms. Setup amounts appear below.

ServiceWhat its pricing pages sayFees its terms or help pages addRead
Alert Communicationslaw firms only"No hidden fees, no surprise charges"Percentage service fee, holiday fee on 8 holidays, telecom and compliance fee, training fees, possible transfer, reporting and portal fees, card surcharge (terms)Oct 7, 2026
AnswerAmerica"Wrong Numbers/Hoax Calls FREE"Terms charge one credit for every call, including wrong numbers and marketing calls; inactivity carries a credit charge (terms)Oct 9, 2026
AnswerConnect"You get 24/7/365 coverage at no extra charge."Bilingual routing add-on, international transfer tiers, transcription and IVR add-ons (help center)Oct 7, 2026
AnswerFirst"You will not find any hidden fees on your invoice."Paper invoice, email group and NSF fees, patching and voicemail at an unpublished rate, number transfer fee (terms)Oct 7, 2026
AnswerForce"you only pay for the time you use"Overage charged to the card as it accrues (terms)Oct 7, 2026
Answering Legal"There are no hidden fees or extra charges for accessing advanced capabilities."Carrier recovery fund, setup fee for holiday-season trials, holiday trial fee, late fee (terms)Oct 7, 2026
Answering Service Care"there are absolutely no hidden costs or surprise activation penalties"Annual maintenance fee, a month's fee without autopay, returned payment fee, paid spam blocker, per-minute multilingual line (terms)Oct 9, 2026
Go Answer"No commitments. No hidden fees. Cancel anytime."New setup fee on return, extra lines and sub-accounts, voicemail and IVR by the minute, per-minute bilingual and legal add-ons (FAQ)Oct 5 and 7, 2026
LEX ReceptionPublished plan cardsEntry carries a setup fee; overage and partial months are billed; terms permit immediate card charges for overage (terms)Oct 7 and 9, 2026
MAP Communications"Simple pricing. No surprises."Per-call telecom fee; flat compliance, technology and holiday fees; card surcharge (terms)Oct 5 and 7, 2026
Moneypenny"There are no hidden fees."Regulatory recovery fees, security deposit on request, re-activation fee, outbound app minutes (terms)Oct 5 and 7, 2026
NexaNo fee claim foundSame fee list as Alert Communications, word for word (terms)Oct 7, 2026
PATLive"No surprises or 'gotchas'!"Licensing and compliance fee, cost recovery fee, card decline fee, texting approval fee, extra numbers (help center)Oct 7, 2026
Posh"Are there any other fees? Nope."Card surcharge, reconnect fee, late charges (terms)Oct 5 and 7, 2026
ReceptionHQ"No surprises, no hidden fees - just honest, upfront pricing."After-hours surcharge per call, transfer fee on ReceptionistPlus, hourly change fees, emergency change fee, prepaid usage credit (terms)Oct 5 and 7, 2026
Ruby"There are no additional or hidden fees for activation, onboarding, setup ..."Additional lines, custom hold music and international dialing lines, late fee (terms)Oct 5 and 7, 2026
Smith.ai Virtual Receptionists"No hidden fees"Add-ons charged on every call, dedicated Spanish line, late charge (terms)Oct 5 and 7, 2026
Specialty Answering Service"Simple pricing. No hidden fees. Really!"Spanish sub-account, extra numbers, patching and IVR by the minute, late processing fee (terms)Oct 5 and 7, 2026

Nexa's blog calls transfer and report fees "Hidden Levies". (nexa.com blog, read October 7, 2026) Its terms allow "call transfer fees, additional phone number rental fees, reporting fees, portal and mobile app access fees" (nexa.com terms, read October 7, 2026).

Moneypenny's Dallas guide warns about "setup fees, overage charges, holiday pricing, appointment scheduling fees, call transfer fees" (Moneypenny blog, read October 7, 2026). Its own setup amount is unpublished.

Setup fees: what the terms charge that the pricing page leaves out

8 of 17 live and hybrid services publish a setup charge on at least one standard plan: AnswerConnect, AnswerFirst, AnswerForce, Answering Service Care, Go Answer, LEX Reception, Moneypenny (US) and Nexa (vendor terms, read October 5 to 9, 2026). Of those, 3 of 8 publish no amount: AnswerFirst, Moneypenny (US) and Nexa.

Moneypenny asks for two months up front. "Payment of Fees for your first and last month's service plus any options and initial setup fee are required in order to process your order" (Moneypenny phone answering terms, read October 7, 2026).

AnswerConnect setup fee: $49.99 on Entry and Standard; none on Growth. "When we waive the setup fee, it still appears on your invoice." (answerconnect.com help center, read October 7, 2026)

Answering Legal charges for timing and complexity. Its pricing page says no setup fees. Its terms allow "between $399 - $599 for extensive setup and/or account configuration above and beyond the normal needs of a customer", and from December 5 to January 7 "a $350 setup fee for firms who enter into a free trial period" (answeringlegal.com terms, read October 7, 2026). Outside those two cases, setup is free.

Go Answer charges again if you come back. Its FAQ says a returning customer loses the toll-free number, and "upon return a new set-up fee of $75 will be required" (goanswer.io/faq, read October 7, 2026).

Answering Service Care adds a yearly fee. Setup is "a one-time setup fee of $50" (answeringservicecare.com/pricing, read October 9, 2026). Its annual maintenance fee "is not prorated, is not eligible for a refund, and applies to all active accounts" (answeringservicecare.com terms, read October 9, 2026). Neither page states that fee's amount.

Ruby and Answering Legal also permit conditional setup charges outside their advertised standard plans. AnswerForce charges one on Intro but not Best value.

Telecom, carrier and compliance fees

MAP Communications says its fees "are not mandated or imposed by law but are determined by us". Beside the per-call telecom fee, it lists a "Compliance/Regulation Use Fee - This is a flat fee" and a "Technology Fee - This is a flat fee", with no amounts (mapcommunications.com/terms, read October 7, 2026).

  • Nexa and Alert Communications: "Fees contributing to the recovery of expenses relating to training and coaching of Company employees", plus a service fee set as a percentage of the invoice (nexa.com terms, read October 7, 2026)
  • PATLive: a "Subscriber Licensing and Compliance Fee ('SLCF') may apply to services involving live answering services", plus a "Surcharge or Cost Recovery Fee ('CRF')" (help.patlive.com, read October 7, 2026). Its terms say "We will not provide advance notice of changes to taxes, fees, surcharges and other charges, except as required by applicable law." (patlive.com/terms-of-use, read October 7, 2026)
  • Answering Legal: "Answering Legal will charge Customer's credit card for a carrier recovery fund of $21.50." The terms do not say how often (answeringlegal.com terms, read October 7, 2026).

Specialty Answering Service states the opposite: "If you are not located in Pennsylvania, you will not see any taxes on your invoice." (SAS help center, read October 7, 2026)

Transfer fees and time billed while a call is patched

  • ReceptionHQ ReceptionistPlus: Transfers $0.30 per call; failed transfers $0.15; after-hours surcharge $0.30 per call outside 5am to 7pm Phoenix time on weekdays, all weekend and on federal holidays
  • Specialty Answering Service: Hold time and after-call documentation; patching +$0.10/min; advanced IVR +$0.15/min; voicemail $0.15/min
  • Moneypenny: Wrap-up up to 180 seconds per call, transfer dial-out, every dispatch leg; queue time not billed

Smith.ai prices "Complex call routing - $1.50" per call (smith.ai/pricing/receptionists, read October 5, 2026), and an add-on is charged on every call in the plan, not only the calls that use it: "Per-call pricing gives you a blended average cost of that functionality, proportional to your call plan." (Smith.ai help, read October 7, 2026)

Holiday and after-hours fees

3 of 16 live and hybrid answering services that publish a holiday rule charge extra on holidays: MAP Communications, Nexa and ReceptionHQ MessageExpress. 1 of 16 that publish a night and weekend rule charge for it: ReceptionHQ MessageExpress (vendor terms, read October 5 to 9, 2026). ReceptionHQ counts once in this statistic; both MessageExpress and ReceptionistPlus surcharge holidays. Alert Communications, a law-only service, shares Nexa's holiday clause.

MAP Communications says "It doesn't necessarily cost any more for a 24/7 answering service." (mapcommunications.com, read October 7, 2026) Its terms charge a holiday fee "for the recovery of additional labor expense incurred on holidays" (mapcommunications.com terms, read October 7, 2026). The amount is not published.

ReceptionHQ's ReceptionistPlus plans pay "$0.30 per call for ReceptionistPlus subscriptions" on calls outside 5am to 7pm Phoenix time on weekdays, which covers every weekend (receptionhq.com terms, read October 7, 2026).

Answering Legal's holiday charges hit trials, not paid plans: "Answering Legal retains the right to charge the inquirer $175.00 for all trials carried through major holidays" (answeringlegal.com terms, read October 7, 2026).

Of the services that publish a holiday rule, 13 of 16 say holidays cost nothing extra. More in after-hours answering service pricing.

Bilingual surcharges

2 of 14 live and hybrid services that publish a Spanish rule charge extra for it: AnswerConnect and Specialty Answering Service (vendor terms, read October 5 to 9, 2026).

  • AnswerConnect: bilingual routing "will come with a small additional charge per month" (answerconnect.com, read October 7, 2026). Its pricing PDF publishes a starting monthly Spanish add-on price (read October 9, 2026); it is outside the plan costs here.
  • Specialty Answering Service: after the trial, "the Spanish line is considered a sub account" billed at the sub-account fee (SAS sign-up page, read October 7, 2026).
  • Smith.ai and Go Answer include Spanish answering and sell a dedicated option: Smith.ai's "Dedicated Spanish line - $1.00" per call (smith.ai pricing, read October 5, 2026) and Go Answer's "Dedicated Bilingual Receptionist $0.30" per minute (goanswer.io pricing, read October 5, 2026).

Spanish hours by vendor are in bilingual answering service pricing.

Programming and change fees

Script changes after setup are billed by the hour at two services:

  • Specialty Answering Service: "changes that take more than 5 minutes will be assessed a fee", and "Programming charges are due the same day that updates are made" (SAS help center, read October 7, 2026).
  • ReceptionHQ: "Service changes requested by Customer in excess of 15 mins $60 per hour charged in 15 min increments", and an "Emergency after-hours request $100 call out fee" (receptionhq.com terms, read October 7, 2026).

Card surcharges, late fees and other payment charges

ServicePaying by credit cardPaying lateOther payment charges
Nexa and Alert Communications"a 3.0% surcharge""1.5% per month", plus late charges"a reconnect fee determined by the Company at its discretion"
MAP Communications"will incur a surcharge", rate not published"1.5% per month", plus late charges"a reconnect fee determined by us at our discretion"
Posh"a 3.0% surcharge""1.5% per month", plus late chargesA reconnect fee at its discretion
Ruby"a 3.0% surcharge"A flat late fee and "1.5% of the outstanding balance per month"None found
Smith.ai Virtual ReceptionistsNot statedA flat charge or "10% of the amount then due (whichever is greater)"Legal fees and collection costs
MoneypennyNot stated"four percent (4%) above the U.S. prime lending rate", a yearA re-activation fee; a security deposit "may be requested at any time"
Answering LegalNot stated"1.5% per month"The carrier recovery fund, charged to the card
Answering Service CareNot stated"1.5% per month"A fee "equal to one (1) month of service" without autopay; a returned payment fee
AnswerFirstNot stated"18% per annum""Collection costs equal 100% of any past-due amounts owed"
Go AnswerNot stated"18% per annum"Returned check fees and collection fees
Specialty Answering ServiceNot stated"18% per annum"An administrative processing fee after 7 days
ReceptionHQNot stated"10% per annum"Calls redirected "to an automated answering service" until paid
PATLiveNot statedNot statedA card decline fee; collection agency charges passed on

Each vendor's terms, read October 7, 2026 (Answering Service Care October 9, 2026). The amounts the table leaves out: Ruby charges "a late fee of $10", Smith.ai a "'Late Charge' of $10 or 10% of the amount then due", Specialty Answering Service "an administrative processing fee of $25", Moneypenny a "$25 re-activation fee", Answering Service Care a "$35 returned payment fee" and PATLive "a $5.00 credit card decline fee". Nexa, Alert Communications, MAP and Ruby charge no surcharge on debit cards, ACH or checks; Posh none on debit cards or ACH.

Overage charged before the month ends

Some vendors collect overage mid-month. AnswerConnect charges the card once "your account reaches $100 or more in overage charges" (answerconnect.com help center, read October 7, 2026).

Overage can also cost more per minute than the plan. AnswerForce's 300-minute plan works out to $389 ÷ 300 min = $1.30/min, and past it AnswerForce charges $1.85 a minute. Rounding is covered in per-minute vs flat-rate pricing.

Spam calls: billed or free

5 of 14 live and hybrid services that publish a spam rule bill spam calls: AnswerAmerica, AnswerFirst, Nexa, PATLive and Specialty Answering Service. 9 of 14 exempt them only within a limit or under a condition, and 0 of 14 exempt them without one (vendor terms, read October 5 to 9, 2026). Each rule, quoted, is in which answering services charge for spam calls.

What the fees add at 100 calls

At 100 three-minute calls, Moneypenny costs $613 before its unpublished setup fee and advance payment for the last month. MAP costs $403 before telecom and flat fees; ReceptionHQ ReceptionistPlus costs $260 before transfer and after-hours fees. Use your volume in the calculator.

Which answering service fits which situation

No setup or holiday fee: Specialty Answering Service

Specialty Answering Service, PATLive, Posh and Smith.ai publish no setup or holiday fee. Specialty costs less than those named services at 50, 100 and 200 three-minute calls: $231, $384.20 and $783. Ruby's pricing page says setup is free, but its terms permit an initial setup or activation fee. Specialty bills script changes hourly and Spanish on a second line.

Prepaid message-taking cash: AnswerAmerica

At 50, 100 and 200 calls, AnswerAmerica requires $80, $150 and $280 upfront, less than other priced live or hybrid services at those volumes; unused credits roll over. ReceptionHQ MessageExpress costs $170 monthly at 100 calls. Both take messages only. AnswerAmerica's terms charge a credit for wrong numbers even though its price page calls them free.

Best if few calls transferReceptionHQ ReceptionistPlus

ReceptionistPlus costs $135, $260 and $505 at 50, 100 and 200 calls, less than every other priced live or hybrid service except the two message-only options, AnswerAmerica and ReceptionHQ MessageExpress. Each transfer and each after-hours call adds a per-call fee.

Best if you transfer most callsGo Answer

At 100 and 200 calls, Go Answer costs $345 and $700, less than every other priced per-minute live or hybrid service at those volumes. It lists no per-transfer fee, but its terms charge a setup fee.

Frequently Asked Questions

What hidden fees do answering services charge?

The fees live answering services write into their terms are setup fees, telecom and compliance recovery fees, holiday and after-hours surcharges, bilingual add-ons, transfer fees, programming change fees, credit card surcharges and late fees. MAP Communications, Nexa and PATLive list cost recovery fees with no published amount. Published live plans and prepaid packages cost $150 to $1,160 at 100 three-minute calls before extra fees; AnswerAmerica requires upfront cash and rolls over unused credits (prices checked October 12, 2026).

What fees does Ruby charge beyond its plan price?

Ruby's terms add "a 3.0% surcharge" on credit card payments, a late fee with interest, and setup or activation fees "as applicable", although its pricing page says there are no fees for setup. Its help center bills "Additional lines" at "a monthly rate of $100".

What fees does PATLive add to its plans?

PATLive says it charges no setup fee and no night or holiday surcharge, but its help center lists a "Subscriber Licensing and Compliance Fee" and a "Cost Recovery Fee" with no published rate. Its terms add "a $5.00 credit card decline fee", and text messaging needs "a one-time fee of $50" for approval.

Does Smith.ai charge for transfers?

Yes, for complex routing: Smith.ai lists "Complex call routing - $1.50" per call. Each add-on is charged on every call in the plan.

Does AnswerConnect charge a setup fee?

Yes, on some plans. The amount and waiver vary by plan; its help center says "When we waive the setup fee, it still appears on your invoice". Published overage runs $1.75 to $2.50 a minute, with mid-cycle card charges.

How these prices were read

Every price on this page was read from the vendor's own pricing page, on the date in its Source cell, and saved as a dated capture. Monthly plans use the cheapest published plan plus overage at 3-minute calls. AnswerAmerica shows the least upfront prepaid credit purchase covering that call volume; unused credits roll over. Vendors that hide prices stay in the tables as quote only. We do not test answering quality and publish no ratings.

How we price   Who runs this site   Every price change

Sources

Vendor pricing and terms pages, from the price index

  1. AnswerAmerica: answeramerica.com/packages (read October 9, 2026); answeramerica.com/terms-conditions (read October 9, 2026)
  2. AnswerConnect: answerconnect.com/plans-direct (read October 9, 2026); answerconnect.com/termsofservice (read October 7, 2026)
  3. AnswerFirst: answerfirst.com/pricing (read October 12, 2026); answerfirst.com/terms-of-service (read October 7, 2026)
  4. AnswerForce: answerforce.com/plans-direct (read October 7, 2026); answerforce.com/termsofservice (read October 7, 2026)
  5. Answering Legal: answeringlegal.com/answering-service-pricing-plans (read October 12, 2026); answeringlegal.com/terms-of-service (read October 7, 2026)
  6. Answering Service Care: answeringservicecare.com/pricing (read October 12, 2026); answeringservicecare.com/terms-and-conditions (read October 9, 2026)
  7. Go Answer: goanswer.io/pricing/live-receptionist (read October 12, 2026); goanswer.io/terms-conditions (read October 7, 2026)
  8. LEX Reception: lexreception.com/plans-direct (read October 9, 2026); lexreception.com/termsofservice (read October 7, 2026)
  9. MAP Communications: mapcommunications.com/pricing (read October 12, 2026); mapcommunications.com/terms (read October 7, 2026)
  10. Moneypenny (US): moneypenny.com/us/plans-pricing-people (read October 12, 2026); cdn.prod.website-files.com/6a06eb94845f8e1701b7e7f1/6aaa99366734be94e463cc1b_us-terms-and-conditions.pdf (read October 7, 2026)
  11. Nexa: nexa.com/pricing (read October 12, 2026); nexa.com/legal/terms-conditions (read October 7, 2026)
  12. PATLive: patlive.com/pricing (read October 12, 2026); patlive.com/terms-of-use (read October 7, 2026)
  13. Posh: posh.com/pricing (read October 12, 2026); posh.com/terms (read October 7, 2026)
  14. ReceptionHQ MessageExpress: receptionhq.com/service/live-call-answering/message-taking (read October 12, 2026); receptionhq.com/call-answering-service-terms (read October 7, 2026)
  15. ReceptionHQ ReceptionistPlus: receptionhq.com/service/live-call-answering/virtual-receptionist (read October 12, 2026); receptionhq.com/call-answering-service-terms (read October 7, 2026)
  16. Ruby: ruby.com/plans-and-pricing (read October 12, 2026); ruby.com/terms (read October 7, 2026)
  17. Smith.ai Virtual Receptionists: smith.ai/pricing/receptionists (read October 12, 2026); smith.ai/receptionists/terms (read October 7, 2026)
  18. Specialty Answering Service: specialtyansweringservice.net/pricing (read October 12, 2026); specialtyansweringservice.net/terms (read October 7, 2026)

Other pages quoted

Changes to these prices

  • Clarified Alert Communications and Nexa trial summaries from "None" to "None found": the reviewed public pages do not offer trial terms, but do not establish that no private offer exists.
  • Clarified LEX Reception trial wording from "None" to "None found": the reviewed vendor pages publish no trial offer, but do not establish that the company never offers one.
  • Added AnswerForce published 1,200, 1,500, 2,000, 3,500, 5,000 and 10,000-minute plans from the pricing page JavaScript captured October 7, 2026. Each lists $1.85 per additional minute or chat. A prior pass missed these plans because its text capture stopped at 1,000 minutes.
  • AnswerConnect and LEX Reception priced from their own /plans-direct pages, including setup fees and larger plans. PATLive added its 2,000 to 5,000-minute tiers. AnswerAmerica added with exact prepaid credit packages; comparison costs show the least upfront package purchase covering the call volume, with unused credits rolling over. Its terms charge wrong numbers and hangups, contrary to its price page. ReceptionHQ MessageExpress named in full. Specialty Answering Service cancellation summary and setup-fee summaries corrected. AI product terms added for Go Answer, Moneypenny and Smith.ai. The initial AnswerForce text capture appeared to stop at 1,000 minutes; the larger plans were later found in saved page JavaScript.
  • Published plans that were on pages already read but missing here. ReceptionHQ ReceptionistPlus added as its own live row (messages and call transfers, no scope note; read October 5, 2026): from $35 a month plus $2.99 a call to $2,440 for 1,000 calls, from its ReceptionistPlus page and the price table in ReceptionHQ's terms (read October 7, 2026), with its own billing terms ($0.30 a call after hours, $0.30 per transfer). ReceptionHQ (MessageExpress, still message-taking only): 150, 250, 350 and 450 calls ($250, $395, $540 and $675) from the same terms table. Specialty Answering Service: 2,500, 5,000 and 10,000 minutes ($2,929, $5,649 and $10,599, overage $1.19 to $1.09 a minute) from its pricing page (read October 5, 2026), and hold time added to what its per-minute billing covers, from its rates page (read October 7, 2026). Go Answer: 1,700, 2,500, 5,000 and 10,000 minutes ($1,870, $2,750, $5,500 and $11,000, overage $1.40 and $1.25 a minute) from its pricing page (read October 5, 2026). Ruby: 1,500, 2,000 and 2,500 minutes ($4,945, $6,400 and $7,875, overage $3.50 to $3.30 a minute) from its help center (read October 7, 2026).
  • Plans and rates that were on the captured pages but missing here: My AI Front Desk overage $0.25 a minute (25 credits at $0.01), Go Answer 750 minutes ($825), AnswerForce 800 minutes ($1,069), ReceptionHQ MessageExpress 400 and 500 calls ($610 and $725), and ReceptionHQ's $0.20 after-hours surcharge per MessageExpress call.
  • Billing terms added for 18 providers from their terms, FAQ and help pages (read October 7, 2026): billing unit, rounding, time billed beyond the call, spam billing, setup fee, contract and trial. Alert Communications added (law firms only, kept out of the ranges). AnswerForce prices added from its /plans-direct page (Intro $349 for 200 minutes, Best value $389 for 300). VoiceNation now redirects to Moneypenny.
  • Ruby: overage rates added from its help center ($5.40/min on the 50-minute plan down to $3.65 on 1,000 minutes), plus the 350, 750 and 1,000 minute plans published there. Ruby's pricing page still shows no overage rate. Abby Professional overage corrected to $2.99 per Abby Minute (its terms and help center), from $3.00 computed as price divided by minutes.
  • Sameday AI added (home services only, read October 5, 2026): Launch from $449/month with 500 minutes, Scale from $789/month with 1,000 minutes. Like Slang.ai, it is listed but kept out of the category ranges because it serves one vertical.
  • First edition: 30 providers read from their own pricing pages. AnswerConnect, AnswerForce, LEX Reception, Answering Legal and Nexa ask for a form or a sales call before showing a price, so they are listed as quote only. VoiceNation publishes the same plan table as Moneypenny (US), so that table is listed once, under Moneypenny.

Download the data

The first table on this page (CSV, 18 rows). The full price index (CSV), free to reuse under CC BY 4.0.

How to cite this page

AnsweringPrices.com, Answering Service Hidden Fees 2026: Setup, Overage, Transfer and After-Hours Charges, prices checked October 12, 2026, https://www.answeringprices.com/hidden-fees/